top of page
Search
  • Christian Cogley

A Lesson In Phylloscophy

Updated: Feb 24, 2021

It is that time of year again; the leaves are beginning to curl and, rather like closing fists can be a sign of an imminent conflict, so the trees of Ashburnham Place are slowly preparing themselves for the onslaught of colder temperatures and waning light. Whilst for many the disappearance of summer is a cause for lament, for the birdwatcher, the shortening days are a call to arms and extra vigilance. With the right conditions, namely the arrival of a North-Easterly wind, even the most predictable of local patches can become a refuge for rarer migrating species, potentially grounded by the need for food or a sudden burst of inclement weather.


Here at Ashburnham there hasn't been an abundance of time for migrant watching. The beginning of September has seen a large cohort of volunteers leaving and the arrival of a new group of fresh-faced and eager internationals, with bags of enthusiasm and plenty of questions. There has been reams of paperwork to sift through, many trips to and from the local train stations and various events to plan. Despite my full schedule, I've managed to get out into the grounds on a few occasions and have been rewarded for my efforts.


The last week or so in August saw an influx of flycatchers into the UK, both Spotted and the rarer Pied species; most likely young birds from Scandinavia heading South to escape dropping temperatures. Josiah and I, with the company of my birding friend David, spent a morning up at Hastings Country Park scanning the various trees and bushes in the hope of spotting one of these migrating youngsters. Whilst this particular morning session failed to deliver the goods - we did enjoy Tree Pipit and Yellow Wagtail - an impromptu trip later on in the week to the local park in Hastings with Josiah produced two Pied Flycatchers in the trees lining Shornden Reservoir. I was overjoyed with this record, particularly since I hadn't laid eyes on this bird in the UK since my childhood. Buoyed on by my success off-site, I was determined to locate another bird in the grounds of Ashburnham Place. Arriving slightly early to work on the 30th August, I spotted (no pun intended) my chance. Heading first to the Private Garden, a quiet area often frequented by various birds, I enjoyed great views of one of the resident Firecrests but could not locate the target species. As I made my way across the lawn towards the fringes of the Winter Garden a long-winged passerine arrested my attention as it cut across my path. Managing to locate the bird once more, sure enough, perched among the branches overhanging the hedge, a Spotted Flycatcher enjoyed a brief period of respite from its energetic 'fly-catching'. I was absolutely thrilled to add this increasingly uncommon bird to my Ashburnham list and even more so when, later on in the week, I located, presumably the same bird, patrolling an area to the right of the main driveway up from the bridge.


On the subject of migrating passerines, toward the end of August and into early September, the more observant rural birdwatcher will no doubt notice a considerable influx of Chiffchaff in and around their usual patch. These small rather plain looking birds swell in number as local juveniles fledge and young adult birds begin to disperse in preparation for their journey South. Despite their drab, non-descript plumage, identification is relatively easy, particularly because of their characteristic, monotonous 'hweet' call. Except at this time of year there is, on first appearances, an almost identical bird which makes an extremely similar call, frequents similar habitat and is also on a mission Southward. What is this bird, I hear you ask. The answer is, of course, a Willow Warbler. This brings me onto the subject of my somewhat esoteric blog title, 'A Lesson in Phyllosocophy'. There is an explanation for my poor attempt at a pun. Both the Chiffchaff and the Willow Warbler share the same Genus 'Phylloscopus' - a scientific classification given to a number of different Leaf Warblers all sharing similar characteristics. Because of their strikingly similar looks and habits even the most experienced birder can be caught out when trying to ID these yellowy greenish sprites; hence my desire to provide something of a lesson. Fortunately, a stroll up to Ladyspring Meadow, a week or so prior to my Flycatcher episode, afforded me the opportunity to take some good photos of both species. Seen as a picture paints a thousand words I'll save you from lengthy descriptions and instead invite you to enjoy the pictures below:




Chiffchaff Willow Warbler


On first impression both birds are strikingly similar (taking into account that the Willow Warbler is better illuminated and therefore appears more vibrant). Both sport buff-brown upper parts and pale, yellowy breasts and quite distinctive superciliums (eye stripes). Both are similar sized and, as mentioned before, behave in a similar fashion; the birds photographed above were both spotted amongst mixed passerine flocks. On closer inspection the Willow Warbler has pale legs compared to the Chiffchaff; this is often a relatively useful diagnostic feature although I have seen Willow's with darker legs. Whilst this particular Chiffchaff has a relatively pronounced supercilium - often they don't extend much beyond the eye - the Willow Warbler has a brighter and more pronounced stripe and a pale lore (the area from the base of the bill extending to the eye).


The addition of Willow Warbler and Spotted Flycatcher to my Ashburnham list means that I have now recorded a total of sixty species. Other recent additions to the list include a Hobby, spotted out of the window in Paul and Andy's office (I was listening I promise!) hawking over Front Water, several Meadow Pipit calling above the main lawn, and three Yellow Wagtails high up over Friar's Field. With Autumn migration really underway now, here's to hoping I find something rare over the next few weeks. A passing Osprey would do the job or perhaps a Yellow-Browed Warbler.









99 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page