top of page
Search
  • Christian Cogley

A Flash Of Flame.

Updated: Feb 24, 2021

Before I begin with a quick round-up of the species I have seen at Ashburnham Place over the last few weeks, I will attach an illustrated map of the grounds, so as to provide some context to my various sightings:



You might notice that only certain sections are labelled. For the most part, the fact that the main areas of habitat are named - Burrage Wood, Broadwater etc. - I'm sure is sufficient enough to provide a rough description of where one might bump into most of the species recorded. However, certain potentially important areas of habitat, the large field to the left if one is facing away from Ashburnham, for example (this does not belong to the trust but it's proximity to the rest of the grounds mean that I will include it as part of my recording area) are not officially named, and so, for the sake of the blog, I've taken it upon myself to come up with some suitably fitting labels to ensure as much of the site is included in my recording. For example, there is 'The Avenue', one of my favourite places to visit, which is situated North of Frontwater and is a corridor of open space between a row of towering broad leafed trees on the way up to The Grove. The aforementioned field has been aptly named 'Lodge Field' for its proximity to Tent Hill House and the majority of the Ashburnham accommodation. With all that said, let me now turn my attention to the birds.

Currently, my list stands at 43 different species. Within this register, the following observations are worth noting: There are seemingly huge numbers of Song Thrush on site along with significant numbers of Blackcap, Chiffchaff, Pied Wagtail and Blackbird. The former two species proved to be, by far, the most numerously recorded on the dusk walk I led for the volunteers a couple of weeks ago. The significant number of Greenfinch around the gardens has been a welcome surprise given how the species has been effected by Trichomonosis, a parasitic disease particularly prevalent amongst this population. The presence of at least three Buzzards, often seen high above Lodge Field, suggests at least one breeding pair. Additionally, a Red-kite, seen on the 30th June above Burrage Wood, but also spotted by Jay, an Ashburnham member of staff, with another bird, might also be an indication of attempted breeding somewhere close by. There are at least three Green Woodpeckers occupying territory very close to the main Ashburnham buildings, which again, is an indication of breeding. On my first walk around the lake as an employee of Ashburnham Place I was delighted to spot several Marsh Tit in the section of woodland above Broadwater. Additionally, I've been pleased to add Siskin and Reed Bunting to my list, the former species seen in flight across The Avenue and the latter, holding territory around the North side of Broadwater.

The definite Avian highlight so far, first heard on the dusk walk in the pines above the bridge and then happily rediscovered a few days later in the same spot, has been a male Firecrest (see picture below). I have since subsequently heard, presumably the same bird singing in that location several times which makes me think that there must be a breeding pair, although I've only ever seen the Male alone. Perhaps a closer inspection once the time allows, will reveal a mate, or even a newly fledged family.



A male Firecrest

148 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page