top of page
Search
  • Christian Cogley

A Farewell To Winter

There hasn't been a huge amount to report on bird wise over the winter period. My first winter at Ashburnham did introduce me to a couple of new species, and confirmed that even at its most barren, Ashburnham Place remains a haven for wildlife. A combination of a busy work schedule and the shortening days meant that I had little time to devote to Avian exploration. However, fortunately, on several occasions, I found myself bumping into some of the more noteworthy species, quite accidentally; it’s always nice when the birds come to you.

Perhaps the best example of this were the Woodcocks I saw at numerous times; not out in Burrage Wood at dusk, but rather whilst walking to my car after work, or lying down on the grass outside of the Orangery post-run, for example. Whilst I’m quite sure I heard a male bird back in the summer when camping up in the Grove one night, the frequency of my sightings over the last couple of months are clearly indicative of a more substantial wintering population.

The discovery of at least one pair of breeding Firecrests proved to be an an early unexpected highlight during the first month of my appointment at Ashburnham Place last summer. Like many other resident Passerine species, Firecrests tend to move around in the winter, dispersing from familial nesting sites. On the days when I was able to get out for a lunchtime stroll, I kept a listening ear out for their high pitched call in the hope that I might locate a wintering bird. A site that in the past has proved to be rather lucrative; the sewage area - where I enjoyed great views of Willow Warbler and Grey Wagtails over the autumn - seemed like a good place to look for this colourful sprite. To my delight, this rarely visited spot had become the winter residency of at least one Firecrest. The fairly open vegetation and low growing trees around afforded me some of the best sightings of this beautiful bird I have ever had. Furthermore, sightings of Siskin and flocks of Goldfinch in the alders surrounding, provided a welcome bit of colour on those cold, grey afternoons. 

A little less exciting perhaps was the arrival of several Tufted Ducks; an initial group of six birds being spotted on Broad Water on 13th February. Numbers dwindled later on into the season and it now appears that the final pair have departed; perhaps this is to be just a wintering species. One great thing about patch birding - getting to know a specific area well - is that even a so called common species, like the ducks mentioned above, provide a sense of excitement and appreciation when seen on an infrequent basis. On this same February stroll another common species also attracted my attention. A mass gathering of Pied Wagtails, numbering well over 500, descended upon South Lawn before coming to rest in the reeds for the night. Though I regularly see good numbers of this bird frequenting the buildings around Ashburnham, surely a roost population of this size, if not nationally significant, is certainly noteworthy as a county record. 


In other news, the bird feeding station, previously placed in the Winter Garden, has been upgraded and moved to the area of grass between Tent Hill & Target Lodge. Situated close to both woodland and open fields, the station has been visited by a greater variety of species then when it was in its previous location. So far I have recorded Chaffinch, Marsh Tit, House Sparrow, Great Spotted Woodpecker, Dunnock, and Robin, both on and around the feeders, as well as the more frequent visitors like Blue Tit, Great Tit, Coal Tit, and Pheasant. We also now have an additional station tucked away in a corner on the West Lawn. Although it’s only been up for a couple of weeks, I have already noted a regularly visiting Great Spotted Woodpecker as well as both Blue Tit and Great Tit



Common Buzzard - spotted high above the Tent Hill feeding station (photo courtesy of David Campbell)

Great Spotted Woodpecker - Tent Hill feeding station (photo courtesy of David Campbell)

Into the present now and with Spring well and truly here, I am enjoying watching the steady trickle of arriving migrants:


On Friday March 6th I noted my first Chiffchaff, calling in the trees close to the feeding station next to Target Lodge. As I had failed to connect with this species over the winter in Ashburnham - this surprised me as I had suspected that the sewage area would provide a home for at least one over-wintering bird - I assume that this was an early migrant from the continent; its voracious feeding suggesting that it had travelled some distance. As of today (10th April), Ashburnham Place now seems inundated with these birds. A total of 17 singing males was recorded on the 6th April around the fringes of Broad Water alone. 

On the 25th March a bird flitting atop the gravestones in St. Peter’s churchyard arrested my attention. On closer inspection I was delighted to spot a Black Redstart, my second record for Ashburnham Place. Later on in the day Jay, our head gardener, sent me a photo of a distant bird she was struggling to identify; this also turned out to be a Black Redstart. Though I cannot be certain I assume this must have been the same bird. 



Black Redstart (long distanced shot courtesy of Jay Ashworth)

I connected with my first Blackcap on Sunday 29th March walking around Broad Water. Since then numbers have swelled over the last week with a total of 15 singing males recorded around Broad Water on Saturday 4th April. 

Finally, a solitary female Swallow darted past the window of my office on Friday 3rd April. Though I failed to locate this bird later on in the day, a couple of days later another individual arrived which was soon followed by several other birds. There are now at least four Swallows enjoying the abundance of newly hatching insects around the Ashburnham Gardens. 

Undoubtedly as Spring progresses there will be the opportunity to observe more passage migration in and over Ashburnam Place. As this is my first Spring here, I am excited at the prospect of spotting something new for the site. Surely I’ll add Wheatear to my list, what with all the surrounding farmland, and I’m optimistic that I’ll see both Spotted Flycatcher and Willow Warbler again, having seen both of these in the Autumn. Furthermore, with Covid-19 imposing upon all of us a reduced working schedule, I’ll have a bit more time to explore some of the more peripheral and quieter areas. Here’s to finding a Grasshopper Warbler or Wryneck perhaps…watch this space. 

67 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page